Honor to Doctors in Business, by the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Washington, 2014

Governor’s Citation from the State of Maryland, for leadership, knowledge and impressive contributions as a key leader in promoting
biomedical research and biotechnology in Latin America, 2013

Innovation Award, for Photodynamic Therapy: Diagnostic and Treatment for the Cervical Intraepithelial Neoplasia at the 5th Innovation Award Medical Service: New Ways on Public Health, by Sanofi, São Paulo, Brazil, 2013

First Award of Innovation in Brazil of Medical devices technology, for the invention of CerCa device, a diagnostic and therapeutic device for the prevention of cervical cancer, 2012

Distinguished Visiting Professor, Department of Neurology, “Hospital do Infectologia Emílio Ribas”, São Paulo, SP, Brazil, 2010

Honorary Member of the Mexican Academy of Neurology, México, 2009

Honorary Professor, Universidad Autonoma of Guadalajara, 2008

Recognition of The Best 100 Mexicans in US, PODER Y NEGOCIOS Magazine, 2007

Distinguished Guest Recognition for Health and Science, Acapulco, Mexico, Key of the City, given by the Mayor of México, 1997, 2000 & 2006

International Professor Award, Ministry of Education and Science, Madrid, Spain. Universidad Complutense de Madrid, 2005

NINDS Group Merit Award, [“Dedication, Superior Service and Achievement to accomplish research goals of defining mechanism of viral infections pathogenesis in the human brain including HIV-1/AIDS”], National Institute of Neurological Disease and Stroke, NIH, 2004

Distinguished Affiliated Professor Honor, Faculty of Medicine, University Autonomous of Nuevo Leon, Monterrey, México, 2002

Professor of NeuroVirology Honor, National Institute of Neurology and Neurosurgery, MéxicoCity, México, 2000

Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award, National Institutes of Health, 1999-2000

Outstanding Professor of NeuroVirology Recognition, by the Pan-American Society of Neurology and Colombian Academy of Neurology, Cartagena, Colombia, 1999

Outstanding Professional of Sciences and Mentor Award, for the Development of a new BL-3 Laboratory in México, 1998

Extraordinary Professor Honor, Faculty of Biological Sciences, Autonomous University of Nuevo León, Mexico, 1996

The Helena Rubinstein Award, Harvard University School of Public Health, 1996-99

Outstanding Professional of Science, Faculty of Biological Sciences, University Autonomous of Nuevo Leon, Monterrey, México, 1996

Paper of the Month by the American Society of Microbiology, USA, also chosen as ‘Harvard paper of the Year’, 1994. The paper focused on the molecular mimicry of HIV.

National NIH Research Award Training, National Institute of Health Training for Harvard University, National Cancer Institute, 1989-92

Presea de la Juventud, State Award, as an Outstanding Young Professional in the State of Mexico, by the Government of Mexico, 1987

A-H Robins of Mexico Award, Recognition for Achievement by University Autonomous State of Mexico, 1981-83